Alexander Hamilton and 1790

Wow – talk about foresight!! He wrote that a man unprincipled in private life, desperate in his fortune, and bold in his temper is seen to mount the hobby horse of popularity, he may ride the storm and direct the whirlwind.

We all know to whom I currently refer. The GOP, Republicans, and REAL conservatives need a solid candidate with a minimum of drama, conflicts of interest, and skeletons in the closet.

Where All Our Hard Earned Money Goes

I’ll get to that in a second.

Did you know that China has cut a deal with Cuba that would allow the Chinese intelligence agencies to put up an electronic surveillance base? The Chinese will pay Cuba billions of dollars for the right to do so. It is clear such a base allows China the ability to hack our communications systems and listen in on all sorts of transmissions in the southeastern part of our country. For those of you who don’t know, US Central Command is located in Tampa, Florida.

Did you also see the, mostly scant, news reports of a large group of Chinese crossing the southern border, through Mexico, alleging political asylum?

Let’s face it, we have been invaded and the Biden Administration, the GOP, and the Independents did NOTHING.

Let’s conspiracy theorize why that occurred:

Conspiracy Theory 1: The Democrats think all of these illegals love them for allowing them to cross right over and the illegals will vote Democrat for decades. (Well, voting rights for illegals is another conspiracy theory for another day.)

Conspiracy Theory 2: The Independents simply are irrelevant in our two party system and it looks like they just turned a blind eye.

Conspiracy Theory 3: This will be a major talking point for the Republicans at the next upcoming election. “Look, see what they did!!!!! They let our country get invaded!!!!!” And, here’s an even SICKER thought – they are probably hoping for either a massive crime wave or spike in crime statistics related to illegals OR, even sicker, they’re hoping for some kind of terrorist attack so they can blame the Democrats.

One fact that no news agency nor federal agency has ever talked about is the probability that various countries used our southern border to get their spies and terrorist across. Unchallenged. And, the feds put them on buses and transported them for disbursement throughout the country.

So, let’s get back to the title of the post. Most of us work. Most of those who work, work their asses off. We need necessities of life and we are entitled to enjoy some toys – whether literal or figurative (like motorcycles, boats, a sports car, ATV, etc). Most of our purchases have a stamp on them – Made in China.

Our money is going to an enemy who has now created the largest navy, already had the largest army but now well better equipped, is funding surveillance posts across the world, is funding projects establishing China’s influence throughout the world. Our money helps fund their mining and gathering of raw materials across the world in order for them to make products to sell back to the world. For a Communist Country, they certainly are the best colonialists EVER.

The rest of our money, in the form of taxes, also goes to this enemy to fund various scientific projects. Are you fucking kidding me????? There was just a whole bunch of stories about that on ALL the mass media outlets. Even the Liberals are up in arms. Why is our tax money being sent to China for scientific experiments? Why is our pocket money going to China for the purchase of goods?

Well, now I have to go off topic because now I’m on a roll.

We have to buy our goods there because corporate and stock holder greed destroyed our manufacturing ability. If we ever go to massive war, we’re fucked. We can’t build, repair, create, sew, nor assemble practically anything like we could during the first and second world wars. We ripped Wood Shop, Home Economics, Car Shop, Metal Shop out of schools convincing kids those were useless bottom feeding industries (really, what was your last car repair bill??). But, we encouraged them to cross dress, go into the girls bathroom, compete in girls sports, you know, the whole LGBT thing because that’s more important.

We have to relay on Chinese experiments because we have dumbed down our children !!! There are school districts across this country eliminating advanced classes, honors courses, pre college advancement because they are racist and not inclusive. That is, only the smart kids (translated as white kids) get in. Since the not so smart kids (translated as non-white kids) aren’t qualified to get into those courses, then they must be prejudice somewhere. There must be racism somewhere. So, let’s do away with all advanced learning. (Why parents of color aren’t going out of their minds because of this insult, is beyond me. Essentially, the educational elite are saying children of color are stupid. Talk about racist.)

So, because we stripped our country of its manufacturing abilities, and because we have stripped our children from advanced learning to dumb down their educational courses, we have to relay on our enemy.

That’s where your money is going.

The INSANITY of The Ignorant

Cardinal Joseph Tobin of Newark, New Jersey (of all places) takes the position that all Americans should give up their 2nd Amendment rights as a way to achieve peace over violence. I guess I can stop right there considering the absolute idiocy of the statement. But, I’ll go on.

The Cardinal believes the right to bear arms is “eclipsed” by the responsibility to protect innocent people, secure public safety, and establish good order. What he plainly does not recognize is the fact that your 2nd Amendment right does EXACTLY that for not only you but those around you. Although rather cliche, it remains outright truth, the bad guys will always have access to guns.

Now before you start believing this is simply Catholic bashing, let me state I am a practicing Catholic, member of the Knights of Columbus and member of the 4th Degree of the Knights, and head usher at my Sunday morning Mass. I go to church every day except Saturdays.

The Cardinal goes on to say that only peace and never violence is the only truth. Hmmm, tell that to any of the remaining Holocaust survivors. Also reflect upon Great Britian’s appeasement policy in negotiating peacefully with Nazi Germany in the late 1930s / early 1940s only to have long range bombs dropped on them. So much for peace. The “real” truth is that sometimes you do indeed need to either respond with violence or act preemptively with violence to defeat evil. And, your 2nd Amendment right provides you with that ability.

He further goes on to say that only peace can build a free society. Hmm, again, apparently not a history buff. Our free society was built upon the need for guns and violence to defeat evil. Think the Revolutionary War; the Civil War; the First World War; the Second World War; the Invasion of Iraq. Free societies all over the world were built upon the need to use violence, not peace, to defeat evil.

He believes more gun laws and access control regulates our behavior in order to protect the vulnerable and ensure the common good. That statement in and of itself is ridiculous. No one, in the history of mankind, have ever protected vulnerable people without the need for violence. And, what “common good” does he refer to? Do you think any one living under an oppressive Communist, Socialist, or Dictatorship regime believes not having guns is good? Come on.

Every law abiding and legal concealed or open carry citizen gets sickened every time some nut shoots up our fellow Americans. And, perhaps that’s a point. You never hear that the shooter obtained his guns legally, or if he / she did, he or she didn’t have some kind of long term mental problems. Good people will not be saved from more “gun control”.

Here is example of what more gun laws and more “gun controls” looks like: There is a sign in your favorite coffee shop: “NO GUNS ALLOWED”. You’re a law abiding citizen. So, you take your holster off and lock your gun in your car. You go inside to enjoy your favorite brew. 10 minutes later three mutts come in and hold up the store and everyone in it. That sign, that gun control, just made you a sitting duck. But, not to worry, just act peacefully and you’ll be passed over like, well, Pass Over. No you won’t. You’ll be vulnerable and you’ll be a victim of violence.

There are hundreds of thousands, perhaps millions, of people in our country who don’t believe guns are the answer. They don’t believe violence defeats violence. Fortunately, for them, they are protected by those of us who do.

Cardinal Tobin, stay in your lane. You have enough to fix without making ridiculous statements that endanger your flock.

Volume 5, Episode 1 – Maybe It’s Life or Death

Hey, this is Kevin Driscoll for The Rusting Barbell Blog Podcast.  A podcast about strength training; weight training; power lifting; Olympic lifting; book review and article review, all with a focus on functional training with barbells.  Please note, you should consult a professional regarding the exact mechanics and form of any exercise discussed.  Remember to always consult with your doctor, health care professional, personal trainer, or coach before starting any exercise routine or trying any exercise discussed in this podcast. 

I can’t believe it has been since August 2022 since my last podcast.  It is simply laziness. 

Of course, I have my New Year’s Resolutions all lined up and ready for implementation.  Of course, one of which is to get into better physical condition.  As of yesterday, I weighed in at 339.4.  I do have a clear conscience in that I really don’t overeat, nor drink beer, or snack throughout the day.  But I probably do have a touch of Type 2 Diabetes, high blood pressure, and maybe even a failing thyroid.  My metabolism has probably slowed, and I spend way too much time sitting at my desk throughout the course of the day.  My goal is to get down to 275 by my 60th Birthday in November 2023.  I’ve already lost one month and I quickly approaching losing another month.    

All of that is about to change.

I purchased a Proform Stationary Bike just prior to the Holidays kicking in.  I started off with 20 minutes per session mainly because my buttocks needed to break in the seat.  I’m up to 40 minutes per session but my rear-end is still not comfortable on the seat.  In any event, 40 minutes on the bike is how I am starting my day.  I usually get a little perspired by the time I am done, and I have to change my t-shirt prior to weight training as I train in the garage, and it is only in the 50s in there during these Arizona winter months.  I don’t like that wet-cold feeling on the back of my shoulders. 

I am returning to the Starting Strength Method of training, but I am adding Floor Cleans into the mix.  So, it might be three days one, one day off.

Today I already finished 40 minutes on the bike and now I getting ready for a Bergner Warmup followed by an additional Floor Clean warmup modified off of Juggernaut.  The workout will be set of 5 warm up; set of 4 – ½ way to max; and then 5 sets of three at “max” weight.  Today I’m going to use 155 as my max 5 sets of 3 and I am going to open with 115.  So, my set of 4 will be 135.    

Hoping to get my New Year off to a good start.  It’s all about consistency and discipline.  And, it has to be taking little steps.  Otherwise, knowing myself, I’ll get frustrated and lose interest.   

Remember: consult your doctor and exercise professional prior to starting any workout or trying any exercises discussed in this podcast.  And certainly, don’t use any of my videos posted on Instagram as any example of how these movements should be performed properly and safely because, frankly, I don’t know what I’m doing myself. 

This is Kevin Driscoll for The Rusting Barbell Blog Podcast. You can hear audio versions of this podcast at:

Sound Cloud – Kevin’s Music and Blog Podcasts

Overcast – Kevin’s Rusting Barbell Podcast

iTunes – Kevin’s Rusting Barbell Podcast

Spotify – Kevin’s Rusting Barbell Podcast

Anchor –  Kevin’s Rusting Barbell Podcast 

How to Get Extorted in Arizona

Simply, go to a gas station. You can experience getting robbed without the threat of violence.

Now, I believe truly in the free market and the law of supply and demand. I don’t believe government should be involved in economics / pricing but for situations were there is a monopoly. For example, most of our utilities are price controlled because we’re all aware what will happen if our natural gas, water, and electric costs were priced by the one provider in our area. But, what happens when it is an entire industry that needs price control???

Earlier this week I watched gas jump 70 cents in one day when reports of Hurricane Ian’s approach to the Florida coast dominated news broadcasts.

There were blurbs from the retailers in our area that there were shortages from the Russian invasion of Ukraine; demand is up; refineries can’t keep up with production needs; and the approach of Hurricane Ian. All of those excuses are outright lies.

Note: President Biden specifically warned gas retailers not to use Ian as an excuse to price gouge.

Let’s review the simple economics of retail gas pricing. All of the following numbers are fake, they are simply demonstrative. If I’m a retailer and I buy my supply today for $3.00, I set a selling price at $x.xx Now, if I buy my supply next week at $4.00, I would need to increase my selling price to $y.yy but if I’m still using the supply I purchased at $3.00, I’m making profit on top of profit because I just raised prices on gas I bought at a cheaper rate. Now, let’s say it goes to $5.00, I would need to increase my selling price to $z.zz

Now, why is it when the purchase price of supply begins to drop, let’s say down to $4.25, the retailer is still charging the price at the $5.00 purchase level? Why is it the retailer bumps prices the instant some calamity is expected when the gas they are selling was purchased at a lower cost? Why is it that gas can shoot up 70 cents per day but only drops 2 cents to 5 cents at a time?

We’re a captured audience. We need gas to survive in terms of our ability to commute to work or to acquire our own “supplies”, mainly food and clothing. As such, we are essentially at the mercy, of which there is none, of the gas retailers. There is no sense trying to get Arizona government involved because they are all big business supporters. So, we’re going to have to take it into our own hands to punch these retailers in the face.

When you have to get gas, try to limit your purchase to gas. Don’t go inside and buy coffee, sodas, snacks, etc. Force the retail profits to plummet and make sure you communicate with the retailer that you are fighting back. I’m not sure if they are going to care. I’m note sure if it is going to make much of a difference. But, at least we won’t be sitting there taking it.

IT’S GOTTA BE A SCAM – RIGHT

I passed by a cell phone company’s franchise vendor and saw a sign matching a television ad that has been running. Essentially, trade in your old iPhone for a new iPhone 13.

Too good to be true, right.

So, I go in and I say to the representative, “So, what’s this sign all about”. The rep says, “Just like the sign says, trade in your phone and we’ll give you $800 credit”.

So, out of the box, we’re already at it’s not really free.

I ask what is the out of pocket and the rep said it is roughly $100 but for 128g version and $200 for the 256g version. I went with the 256g version.

Now, the real reason I went in was to drop a second line that I haven’t used in years. That saves me $20 per month. So, my monthly should now be $110 or so. The rep said I still had $84 to pay off the old phone so I paid that cash.

I added a privacy screen, a soft bumper shell, and a jack for the need speed charger. Out the door for about $350.

Now, I will admit the rep told me at least FOUR times and then asked me to sign an acknowledgment that my first two bills would have a $22 charge on it. But, on the third month, it would show a $44 credit and my bill would be the $110 that it should be. Fine. But, I asked why. The rep said, “Well, XXXXXXXX needs to verify the trade in was indeed traded in and that takes about two months to go through their system”.

Isn’t it odd that the cell phone company, or any vendor for that matter, can instantly CHARGE you for a service or product, but a refund, or credit takes time. That, in and of itself has to be a violation of some banking law.

Further, since the vendor is a franchisee of XXXXXXXXX and, essentially, an agent of the company, why isn’t my trade in accepted in the “system” instantly?

Out the door, new iPhone, charger, privacy screen, and bumper protector for $350 or so on my Amex.

When I got home, there were five emails waiting for me from the cell phone company. One of which was a ‘FINANCE AGREEMENT’. Whoa, wait a minute, back up the truck. What, Finance Agreement? Now, it clearly had my signature on it, digitally. Like when I signed my Amex purchase. I did NOT sign any finance agreement.

However, I did sign the “acknowledgment” about the two $22 charges that would be credited back on the third month.

There HAS to be a scam here. My final invoice clearly shows an $800 credit. What did I have to finance?

Either the cell phone company is scamming it’s stock holders by showing $44 per customer in extra revenue – $44 x at least 100,000 customers is $4,400,000 alone.

Or, the vendor is getting credit / a bonus / an incentive to have customers “finance” but the “trade in” is the payoff of the $800 financed (rather than cash).

In any event, something is wrong here. Someone is getting scammed.

And, we’re giving the cell phone company a $44 interest free loan so they can use our money for their own interest game. Maybe that’s the scam.

HOME GROWN? NOT ANY MORE!

I have been ranting about our inability to build and our inability to manufacture anything anymore. The pandemic has shown us how weak we have become. We relay on China, mostly, and other Asian countries for almost everything.

Disgusting in and of itself. We should be ashamed of ourselves. What happened to the proud Made in America label?

Now we see yet another category of everyday essentials soaring in price. Between February and March of 2022 food prices in the United States have risen 12.6%. This is the highest of recorded levels. Talking heads are blaming Russia. The ultimate scapegoat. The Russian war with Ukraine is disrupting shipments of essential food supplies. Specially, wheat and oils made from vegetables. But it’s not really Russia is it? I’m posing that question to the Biden Administration (more below).

What? We are importing wheat and vegetable oil?

Similar to big business outsourcing everything in the name of bigger dividend checks and stock prices, we, the American people now can’t even grow our own food. Did you know the Department of Agriculture and some local state versions of that government entity pay farmers NOT to grow crops? Some cite “environmental issues”, some cite drought conditions.

For example, California is having farmers keep thousands of acres vacate during the growing season. Considering their drought conditions we should all guess what is going to happen next. California will start up the next Dust Bowl (see historical descriptions of 1930s dust bowl conditions that devastated food growing areas).

The Biden Administration is now paying farmers not to grow essential food crops so to add 4 million acres farmland to the Conservation Reserve Program, which takes land out of production. Making us more and more socialist in our dependency on foreign countries for our food. FOR OUR FOOD!!!!!!!

Disgusting. Again, we only have ourselves to blame for allowing our government to get away with this.

Summary: we now depend on other countries to build our things and feed us. The greatest country in the world? No, we’re the newest Third World Country.

INDEPENDENCE

Independence.

It is a word we claim to be the backbone of our existence.

We even have a declaration of it.

We were for centuries very independent. As a country, as a society, as a culture, and as individuals.

But something happened. We let politicians make us dependent upon them (the government) for most basic needs: affordable housing; food stamps; emergency fuel; unemployment; etc.

We let big business, under the disguise of bigger dividends and stock values destroy our manufacturing capabilities and making us very much dependent upon an enemy who is FLUSH with American cash, building up its military, hacking our computers, and getting ready to take over other parts of the world to further enrich itself.

We let bleeding heart liberals cut into our constitutional rights – specifically our right to bare arms. So, now the only ones with easy access to guns are the bad guys. We become less and less able to defend ourselves from an invasion and occupation.

We let these very same liberals convince us that energy independence is bad. So, now as we watch another enemy invade its neighbor we do nothing but to continue to buy oil from it and our dependency on this enemy is well established and our gas prices sky rocket.

We aren’t the “greatest country in the world” when we become more and more less independent of others.

THE OUTRIGHT HYPOCRISY OF THE EQUITY MOVEMENT

So the latest, absolute crazy equity statement is that made by Mars candy and centers on their colors and their characters being redesigned to coincide with a “more dynamic and progressive world”.

REALLY???? !!!! It’s candy. The only controversy should be whether you like plain or peanut !!!!!

It is outright shocking to see the lengths these progressive idiots will go. Looking in every crack and corner of life looking for some sign of prejudice or need for equity (note I specifically avoided the work equality).

With rare exception, white people, especially white males never “protest” the obvious and outside prejudice they have experienced, are currently experiencing and will experience in the future. But, now, I’m going to take a stand.

Let’s talk about the characters. The old ones – hysterical. The new ones – sad. Now the new characters are supposed to show the power of community. Hmm. I never knew there was controversy with the green candy design. Apparently, long eye lashes and 1960s style go-go boots were sexist. IT’S CANDY !!!!! The red candy was accused of being grumpy towards his counter parts. IT’S CANDY !!!!! (We better warn the 7 Dwarfs the progressives are coming for them.) Apparently there was also a need for the green candy and the brown candy to be friendlier to each other. IT’S CANDY !!!! OH MY GOD – I can’t stand it !!!! The green candy and brown candy have to show solidarity.

The orange candy, portrayed as very anxious, will remain to better bond with the Generation Z group because, as Mars points out, that generation is very anxious. (So much for prejudice opinions – grouping all members of a group by a characteristic. You know, profiling.) Hypocrites.

If you go on the website you might notice only one candy has an actual name – it is Ms. Brown. Guess which candy it is.

So, ahh, where is the white candy? I thought we were progressive and inclusive. I thought we were trying to be consistent with the world (apparently there are no white people in the world).

I’m only one sad, tired, rather insignificant complainer. But, I’m writing them a letter advising I’m no longer a customer.